Photo from Unsplash
Originally Posted On: https://bippermedia.com/charges-for-driving-with-a-suspended-license-in-florida/
For most people, driving is a necessity. It’s how they get to work, school, and other destinations. However, for those who have had their driver’s license suspended, driving can be a huge hassle – and it can also come with some expensive consequences. In Florida, drivers who are caught driving with a suspended license can be fined up to $500 and jailed for up to 60 days. This article will discuss the penalties for driving with a suspended license in Florida, reasons for a suspension, as well as information on how to reinstate your license.
What is a Suspended Drivers License?
When a driver’s license is suspended, it is not canceled. It means that the license is still valid, but the holder is not allowed to drive. Suspended licenses can have a serious impact on people’s lives. For example, if someone’s license is suspended for not paying a traffic ticket, they may not be able to get to work or school. And if someone’s license is suspended for being convicted of a DUI, they may lose their job and face other penalties, such as jail time.
In Florida, if a person’s driver’s license is suspended, they can be charged with a crime for driving even if they have a valid license from another state. The charge is a misdemeanor and can result in heavy fines under the Florida Statutes. A first offense usually results in a fine and/or probation, but subsequent offenses can result in jail time.
Reasons for the Suspension of a Driving License
There are many reasons why a driver’s license might be suspended in Florida. Some of the most common reasons are:
1. A DUI Conviction
If you are convicted of DUI, you may lose your license for one year or more. In some cases, a DUI conviction can result in a driver losing their license for life.
2. Insurance Violations
If you’re caught driving without insurance, your insurance company may withdraw your license—that is, it will no longer allow you to drive. This means that you won’t be able to drive until you’ve paid the fine and been given your license back.
3. Failing to Pay Child Support
In Florida, parents who are ordered to pay child support may have their driver’s license suspended if they fall behind on their payments. The goal of this law is to help ensure that children receive the financial support they need from both parents. Although the law is intended to help families, it can also create additional challenges for those who are struggling to make ends meet.
4. Accumulating Too Many Points on Your Driving Record
If you accumulate too many points on your driving record in Florida, the state will suspend your license. Points are assessed for various violations, such as speeding, running a red light, or driving without a seat belt. The number of points that you receive for each violation varies. For example, speeding 10-14 mph over the limit results in 3 points, while speeding 15 mph or more over the limit leads to 4 points. If you amass 12 points within 12 months, your license will be suspended. You can check how many points you have on your record by visiting the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website.
5. Driving With an Expired License
Driving with an expired license is a serious offense. This is why you should always make sure to renew your license before it expires. If you are pulled over by the police and they find out that your license has expired, they will immediately take away your driving privileges.
If your license is suspended, you will need to take action to get it reinstated. This may involve paying fines, attending a hearing, or completing a driver improvement course. It is important to understand the reason for your suspension and take the necessary steps to resolve it as quickly as possible.
Charges for Driving with a Suspended License
In Florida, many drivers do not hold a valid driver’s license. Driving with a suspended license can result in a number of potential charges and fines. The severity of the penalties will depend on the reason for the suspension and whether or not the driver has prior offenses.
Some of the potential charges and fines include:
- Driving with a suspended license. First offense – Up to $500 in fines and 60 days in jail.
- Driving with a suspended license. – Second or subsequent offense – Up to $1,000 in fines and 6 months in jail.
- Driving without a valid license. Up to $500 in fines.
- Driving without insurance. Up to $500 in fines.
Florida’s driver’s license suspension laws are very strict and the penalties for driving with a suspended license can be substantial.
Ignorance of Suspension
If you are charged with driving with a suspended license, you may be able to use ignorance of your suspension as a defense.
If you were unaware that your license was suspended, there is a chance that the court will dismiss the charges against you. The court will consider whether or not it is reasonable for someone to have been unaware of their suspension and whether or not they should have known.
The following factors can be considered when determining whether or not someone should have known:
- Was it easy to find out if their license was suspended?
- Did they have any prior knowledge that their license had been suspended?
- Did they receive any notifications from the DMV about their suspension?
How to Check if Your License is Suspended
Drivers are always required to keep their licenses up-to-date and valid. If you’re wondering whether your license is suspended in Florida, there are a few ways to check.
The first and easiest way to find out if your license is suspended is by going online to flhsmv.gov. You can also call the Florida DMV at (850) 617-2000 or visit one of their offices in person. They have locations throughout the state and will be able to tell you whether or not your license has been suspended. If your license has been suspended, they will let you know what steps need to be taken before it can be reinstated so that you can legally drive again.
How to Reinstate a Suspended License
If your driver’s license has been suspended, you may be wondering how to go about reinstating it. The process for reinstatement will vary depending on the reason for the suspension. In most cases, you will need to complete a driver’s license restoration application and provide proof of your identity, residency, and insurance. You may also be required to pay a fee and take a written or driving test.
In Florida, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) is responsible for licensing drivers and regulating traffic safety. The DHSMV website provides detailed information on how to reinstate a suspended license in Florida, including a list of documents that are required for reinstatement.
Need Legal Help?
If you’ve been arrested for driving with a suspended license, it’s best that you speak with an experienced attorney who can help you build your defense strategies. A knowledgeable defense attorney will be able to explain your rights, work to get your charges reduced or dropped, and may even be able to help you reinstate your license. Please contact our experienced team of lawyers at Hanlon Law so we can help you with any legal troubles you may have.
Contact us today for a free consultation!
1111 3rd Ave W Ste 310
Bradenton, FL 34205